Skip to content ↓
Lathom Junior School

Lathom Junior School


Assessment at Lathom Junior School is based on the expectations of the new curriculum, where each Year Group has end-of-year outcomes that the majority of pupils are expected to achieve by the end of that academic year.

At Parents' Evenings and at the end of the year, your child will be given a level that indicates their attainment against those end-of-year outcomes.  


Each year group now has 3 ‘levels’ that a child can achieve: Beginning The majority of pupils should be working within the ‘Secure level’ as this means that they have a secure knowledge and understanding of the curriculum of the year group they are in.

  • Year 3 levels: 3E, 3S, 3M
  • Year 4 levels: 4E, 4S, 4M
  •  Year 5 levels: 5E, 5S, 5M
  •  Year 6 levels: 6E, 6S, 6M 

Here (from years 1-6), the number refers to the year group the child is in and the letter refers to their knowledge of the curriculum.